Crisp Pita Wedges {Baked}

I figured it isn’t fair to give you not one but three luscious dips and nothing to dip in them. I’m terrible, I know. Such oversights ought to be corrected at once. And nothing says “Dip me” more than a bowlful of toasty, golden pita wedges!

IMG_0122

These are crisp, delectably flavoured with olive oil and just begging to be dunked in a bowl of gooey goodness. Unlike chips (hello, flimsy!), these hold up beautifully even if you’ve just scooped up half the bowl of dip in one go! Pita wedges are fast becoming my go to food for completely guilt-free snacking! What’s not to love – healthy, delicious and go with literally anything you put in a bowl! And SO delightfully easy to make!

Bring out a few pita breads and slice them up into wedges.

IMG_0141

Line a baking sheet with foil and lay all the wedges so that they don’t overlap. Now, Ree can’t stress enough that you’ve to GENEROUSLY brush them with olive oil on both sides. And I have to agree – really lay on the oil!

IMG_0114

That’s it! Pop the tray into the oven on the lowest rack; leave it longer if you want them crisp and at that lovely, lovely place between toasted and charred. It’s a fine, fine line, so be careful! See those dark edges? Sillly me made the teeny tiny mistake of putting them in the middle rack AND leaving them slightly longer than I should have. So YOU better do it right, okay? Okay. Once done, let them cool for a couple of minutes and pile them all into a bowl. Serve with your favourite dips!

IMG_0123


CRISPY PITA WEDGES {BAKED}
Adapted from The Pioneer Woman

Prep Time: 5 mins | Cook Time: 15 mins | Serves 4-6 as an appetizer

4 pita breads
1/3 cup olive oil, to bake

  • Pre-heat your oven to 190°C or 375°F (For those whose ovens don’t allow this, pre-heat to 200°C)
  • Cut each pita into six or eight wedges, depending on size.
  • Line a baking tray with aluminum foil (totally optional, I’m a little cautious like that) and arrange the wedges in a single layer.
  • Brush both sides of each wedge generously with olive oil.
  • Pop into the oven on the lowest rack for 15-18 minutes, till golden and crisp.
  • Serve with an assortment of your favourite dips!

ADAPTATIONS & HACKS

  • You can slice the pita breads into sticks instead of wedges and follow the same method to get crispy bread sticks
  • If you’d like the flavour of olive-oil to be milder, use a mix of olive oil and grapeseed oil to brush the pita wedges
4 responses to “Crisp Pita Wedges {Baked}

  1. Hi Suraksha,

    There is a variant of this I try and it works wonderfully for me, see if you like it
    Instead of the Pita Bread, buy some Fajita wraps and cut them into vertical pieces, approx 12-14 from each wrap. The size is just perfect to be able to dip it
    Chop some garlic and roast it Olive Oil in the Microwave for about 30 secs
    Add Oregano, chilli flakes and salt to this oil

    Now brush this oil on the wrap and then bake it just like you did, but for slightly lesser time, let them be for 3-4 minutes once they are out of the OTG so they can become crisp. Also, the baking time would be lesser 🙂

    These are crispier and have a shelf life of about 15 days

    Cheers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Parul! That sounds yummm! A question, though – are the fajita wraps flour or corn tortillas? Asking cos where I live, I probably have to make them myself! 😛

      Definitely trying this the next time I have a chip-and-dip craving! 🙂 Thanks so much!

      Like

      • They are the Flour Ones. If you are doing it yourself, try doing a 90/10 maida Atta mixture, some oil and salt to the atta and semi cook them on the tava, like you would do it for rolls and it will work wonders !
        Another plus, I have tried it with leftover chapatis, and I like those also 🙂
        I am sorry for such scribbled notes but I am sure experts like you know what I mean
        Hope alls well with you and the husband 🙂 I really enjoy this blog !

        Like

      • Hahaha, by no stretch of imagination am I an expert! 😛 I need all the scribbled notes I can get – can’t wait to try these!

        Everything’s great w us; having a ball! And so glad you like it here! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

