Dried Fig Jam

Dried Fig Jam 2

I know, I know. Almost a whole month of nothing. I would tell you about all the important, life-changing stuff I’ve been doing while away, but you know, there isn’t any. You know I tell you guys everything, so let me just come out and say it – I was lazy. But, but only to write! I’ve been cooking up a whole lot of deliciousness these past few weeks and I promise to share all of that with you in the next couple of days. And no, I won’t get all lazy again. Cross my heart.

While we’re still on the subject of lazy, though, let me tell you about this dried fig jam I made. It’s quick, luscious and healthy. You can wake up one morning, decide you want to have fresh jam with your morning toast and a half hour later, BE EATING IT! This jam is warm, comforting and almost tastes of winter. It’s perfect for when you want jam right now but don’t want to be measuring out pectin and simmering the jam for ages. I used figs that were sliced & dried, but you can usee whole dried figs too, like in the original recipe!

Dried Fig Jam 1

I ate this smeared on some crisp toast, but you can do so much more! Make dessert crostinis (jam, sweet cheese, drizzle of ginger honey), layer it in a breakfast parfait (with froyo, muesli and nuts) or simply top some creamy vanilla bean ice-cream with it and slurp it up!


DRIED FIG JAM

Recipe adapted from The Kitchn

Prep Time: 2 mins | Cook Time: 10 mins + 10 mins cooling time| Makes 1½ cups

  • Take 200g dried figs, 1 cup water, 3 tbsp lemon juice & ¼ cup sugar in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Try to keep most of the figs immersed.
  • Lower the heat and let simmer till the liquid is slightly syrupy and a light amber colour, ~8-9 minutes. (Check for sweetness and add more sugar if you like) Take off heat and mix in 1 tsp vanilla essence and ¼ tsp cinnamon powder.
  • Cool for 10-12 minutes, transfer to a blender jar and purée to desired consistency.
  • Store refrigerated in an air-tight container. It should keep well for a week to 10 days!

ADAPTATIONS & HACKS

These are just some ideas for what I think will work really well in this jam – haven’t tried any of these, but it sure is on my (never-ending) list of things to do!

  • For a boozy kick to the jam, try simmering the figs in red wine or sherry.
  • In addition to the cinnamon, use 5-6 cloves and ¼-½  tsp nutmeg to make a spiced jam. Just the perfect thing to make you all warm fuzzy inside on a cold, wintry morning!
  • Replace part of the sugar with mild-flavoured honey or agave nectar – too much of it will mask the flavour and your jam won’t be “jammy” enough!
One response to “Dried Fig Jam

  1. Pingback: Coconut Chocolate Pudding {Vegan} | Mise En Place·

Leave a Reply

