Spicy Mozzarella Breakfast Muffins

Spicy Mozzarella Muffins

Savoury muffins are whole new thing for me – I’ve had them at, maybe, a couple of a brunch spreads but again, they were nothing to write home about. Muffins are usually my airport or shopping food, where I plop myself in a café and order up a large blueberry or banana-nut muffin and my favourite frappé. It’s happened more times than I can remember that I’ve rushed to my gate (despite being early to the airport), balancing my coffee, muffin and carry-on. But see, that’s what’s great about muffins – they’re super portable!

When I had a full-time job, I rarely had the luxury of a sit-down breakfast. I was almost always rushing out the door with a couple of sorry slices of toast or a fruit. If you’re like me and time seems to go doubly fast in the mornings, then this recipe is your savior. Make these crumbly, flavourful muffins on a Sunday and you’re sorted for at least the next 3-4 days. They’re super easy to make and keep really well! What’s better, you can totally wing it and go with any flavour combination you like! I would have LOVED to do a caramelized onion & cheddar muffin but I don’t get cheddar here, so I went with what I had lying around!


SPICY MOZZARELLA BREAKFAST MUFFINS

Prep Time: 10 mins | Cook Time: 20 mins | Makes 6 large muffins

  • Pre-heat your oven to 200°C/400°F
  • Finely chop 2 medium green chillis, 3-4 cloves of garlic and ¼ cup coriander
  • Sift 1 cup of flour, 1 tsp baking powder and salt to taste into a large mixing bowl
  • Add the chopped ingredients and ½ cup shredded mozzarella and mix to combine
  • Lightly beat 1 large egg, 2 tbsp melted butter and ½ cup of milk together and add it to the dry ingredients. Mix gently to combine (over-mixing will release too much gluten, making the muffins dense and dry). You should have a thick-ish batter now.
  • Line a muffin tin with liners or simply brush with some melted butter or olive oil. Scoop batter in until 2/3rd full and bake for 17-20 minutes till golden.
  • Serve warm straight from the oven or store in an air-tight container for later.

ADAPTATIONS & HACKS

  • Add caramelized onions to give the muffins a bit of sweetness
  • Cook 1 cup of spinach till it wilts, season it with salt and add it to the filling for a healthy spin
  • If you’re out of fresh chillis, chilli flakes will do just fine
  • I’m vegetarian, but if you’re not, go ahead and add ½ cup of bacon crumble or pancetta. If doing this, skip the coriander and chilli and add some caramelized onions.
  • You can reserve a bit of the shredded cheese and use it to top off the batter, once you’ve spooned it into the tin.
5 responses to “Spicy Mozzarella Breakfast Muffins

Leave a Reply

