Nutella French Toast

Nutella French Toast

Breakfast is my absolute favourite meal of the day – a good breakfast can just as easily make my day as a bad (or non-existent) meal can ruin it. Yes, I’m dramatic like that. Unlike most people I know, I’m a sucker for sweet breakfasts and this Nutella stuffed French toast perfectly fits the bill!

For the longest time, French toast was something I only ate at restaurants and cafés – somehow we never made it at home. The first time I made French toast was 6 months back, for my mum’s birthday breakfast! When I say I started cooking five seconds back, I’m not kidding.

This recipe is a basic French toast which is so, so easy! You quickly whip up an egg/ milk custard, soak a few bread slices with it and cook them in butter on a skillet. These are deliciously golden on the outside, slightly gooey and egg-y inside. Slather it with a spoonful of Nutella and voilà! A word of caution, though – I’d strongly suggest that you don’t take this up when you have a table full of people to serve. Unless you enjoy sweating it out over a hot skillet, flipping toast after toast and having your friends wondering why you’re so grumpy!

Although now that I’ve mastered this, I imagine all sorts of decadence for my next batch – a crème anglaise base, chocolate-chip French toasts, berry compote to go with it. The possibilities are endless! I also can’t wait to try my hand at this crème brûlée French toast recipe – how good is that!

NUTELLA FRENCH TOAST

Prep Time: 2 mins | Cook Time: 10 mins | Serves 2 (3 thin slices of bread each)

  • Beat together 4 eggs, ¼ cup milk, ½ tbsp sugar, ½ tsp vanilla essence, ½ tsp cinnamon powder (optional) till well combined. Pour into a shallow dish.
  • Heat some butter on a skillet/griddle on medium heat
  • Meanwhile, dip (slightly stale) bread into your batter and soak each side till the bread absorbs the mixture but doesn’t fall apart. Soak only as many as you can cook in one go.
    • Ideally, use thick slices of bread and soak each side for 20-30 seconds
    • If using thinly sliced bread, soak each side for 5-10 seconds
  • Transfer the soaked slices onto the hot skillet/griddle and lightly press each down with a spatula
  • After 20-30 seconds, lift up a corner to check if the bread has caramelized. If it has, flip it to cook the other side. This depends on how hot your griddle is, so play it by ear!
  • Once both sides are golden, transfer them onto a plate, dust with some icing sugar if you will and serve with a generous dollop of Nutella on top or on the side.

ADAPTATIONS & HACKS

  • Serve with maple syrup, whipped cream or a fruit compote (plums, blueberries, strawberries are all fantastic!)
  • Skip the sweet elements (sugar, vanilla, cinnamon) and instead add ½ tsp garam masala (or black pepper), salt to taste and 2 finely chopped chillis for a savoury dish.
5 responses to “Nutella French Toast

Leave a Reply

