Banana Smoothie

It’s breakfast time and it’s a whopping 43°C outside. We love our chai or coffee in the mornings, but the very thought of hot beverages in this unforgiving heat was too much for us to bear. *shudder* We’d just emptied a couple litres of juice yesterday (in, um, one sitting) so we didn’t have any left. I did a quick Jack Bauer-level, 5-second recon of my kitchen and found all the ingredients I needed to make one of my favourite beverages – a banana smoothie! And that it takes about 2 minutes to blend everything together is taking no points away from it, gentle reader.

I’ve always had this niggling question in my mind – is there, in fact, a difference between a smoothie and a milkshake? Is there? There are probably experts on this too, but I’ve made up my mind that anything with fresh fruit/vegetable is a smoothie and anything without is a milkshake. I should definitely get some good kitchen karma for making things so simple. *prays* Banana Smoothie The left one is Hubs’ and the right one, darkened to a chocolaty brown with a dash of cocoa is, of course, mine. But surely you knew that. I’ve only told you about my addiction obsession love for chocolate about fifty times already! Anyway. This smoothie is the perfect breakfast companion to a light breakfast – it’s healthy, it’s filling and you can really play around with the flavours to your liking. I make it with skim milk but you can use whole milk for a thicker smoothie. Make it your own!


BANANA SMOOTHIE

Prep Time: 1 minute | Cook Time: 1 minute | Yield: Makes 2 glasses, 250 ml each Put the following in a blender jar (I’d recommend using a 1L jar to prevent leaking) and blitz till smooth –

  • 2 overripe bananas, roughly sliced
  • 500 ml skim milk
  • 2 tsp sugar (add more, if that’s what floats your boat)
  • a pinch of cinnamon powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tbsp cocoa (optional, if you’re a chocolate fiend like me)

Like I always say, taste it and if you don’t like something, CHANGE IT! That said, I’d really recommend you add the cinnamon & vanilla, cos they truly amp up the flavour!

ADAPTATION & HACKS

  • You can use whole milk (for a thicker smoothie) or fresh, thick yoghurt (adds a slight tang) instead of skim milk to blend the smoothie. I’ve also known people to use soy milk with good results. So it’s really your call!
  • Adjust the sugar according to how ripe your bananas are. If using just ripe bananas, add 3-4 tsp of sugar cos they’re less sweet than overripe ones.
  • Add some texture with nuts! Now, this is a bit of work. You can add almonds or walnuts (blanched in warm water & peeled) to give a nutty twist to your smoothie. I love the bite they add but don’t add them regularly cos it’s a bit of a pain. *oops*
  • When adding cocoa, you can use the unsweetened version or the stuff like Cadbury’s Drinking Chocolate. Unsweetened cocoa can have a slightly bitter aftertaste, which I like, but you may not – so adjust your sugar or use the sweetened version.
  • Make it decadent! Reduce the milk to 400-450 ml and a scoop or two of ice-cream to get a thick, frothy milkshake. So many flavour options here – vanilla, chocolate of course, caramel & strawberry (this may sound gross, but is actually DIVINE!) are my top picks.
3 responses to “Banana Smoothie

    • That’s not entirely true. Several smoothies use milk but milkshakes don’t use yoghurt, so I guess milkshakes are a subset of smoothies 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  1. I think the difference is that milkshake requires milk (duh) while smoothie calls for yoghurt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

